G2

Deal analysis · Fintech and payments

Bravo: EUR 200 million credit facility with Fortress Investment Group

Fortress provided Bravo with a EUR 200 million facility for its credit division and its debt settlement operation; it is debt, not equity, for a platform founded in Mexico in 2009 with more than 522,000 clients.

On 18 February 2026 Fortress Investment Group announced a EUR 200 million credit facility, around USD 236 million, provided by funds it manages to Bravo, a debt repair and credit platform founded in Mexico in 2009. The stated use is the credit division and the debt settlement operation. It matters because a global institutional lender is funding, in euros and at scale, a consumer credit model born in Mexico.

The transaction

Bravo (Go Bravo) negotiates and settles individuals’ debts at a discount and extends credit to pay them off. The sources differ on its headquarters: Fortress places it in Madrid; LatamFintech describes it as a Mexican fintech based in Mexico City. Neither discloses the borrowing entity.

The facility is EUR 200 million; tenor, rate, collateral and advance rate were not disclosed. Bravo reports 500,000 debts settled since 2009, more than USD 1,000 million of debt under management, more than USD 300 million of credit originated and more than 522,000 clients. Its previous backers include BBVA Spark, GPF Capital, Cercano Capital and Achieve.

Value drivers

Seventeen years of payment data. Since 2009 Bravo has settled 500,000 debts. In our reading, a private credit lender underwrites precisely that recovery and delinquency history, more than growth.

An origination channel with known behaviour. The settlement operation manages more than USD 1,000 million and credit originated totals USD 300 million. In our reading, the settlement business works as an acquisition channel for clients whose payment behaviour the platform has already observed.

Currency and headquarters. The facility is denominated in euros while the Mexican portfolio is in pesos; the currency hedge was not disclosed. The headquarters discrepancy between the sources matters for knowing which entity borrows and in which jurisdiction; the sources do not clarify it.

Scale against comparables. Aviva obtained USD 50 million from Community Investment Management in November 2025 with 200,000 clients and 3.1% delinquency; Kettera, up to USD 50 million through a receivables trust in April 2026; Plata, up to USD 500 million with Nomura in December 2025 and USD 300 million of commitments from Oaktree, Macquarie, Fasanara and Covalto in June 2026. Bravo sits between the two extremes.

What the market is signalling

Global private credit managers are lending at scale to Mexican consumer credit originators: Fortress to Bravo, Nomura and Oaktree to Plata, Community Investment Management to Aviva and Jeeves, a US investor to Kettera. In our reading, the condition is a portfolio with data and a structure that isolates the assets, such as Kettera’s bankruptcy-remote trust or Jeeves’ special purpose vehicle.

For credit founders, the signal is that funding at scale does not require a banking licence: it requires portfolio history, structure and reporting. For the local bank lenders that backed Bravo earlier, such as BBVA Spark, Fortress’ entry shows that international private credit competes for the same originators once they reach volume.

G2’s reading for a mandate

A debt mandate for an originator is prepared with a loan tape of at least two years, an asset isolation structure (trust or special purpose vehicle), a currency hedging policy if the lender’s currency differs from the portfolio’s, and a competitive process with five to eight lenders of different types. The final price depends as much on the structure as on the portfolio.

Sources

More analyses in this sector

Deal analysis

Banorte sells Bineo to Klar: a banking licence as a tradable asset

Banorte agreed to sell 100% of its digital bank to a Klar subsidiary in September 2025; the Comisión Nacional Antimonopolio cleared it in December and, a year after signing, closing still awaits the SHCP and the CNBV.

· 5 min read